Poems from Grade One

Part 16 of my novella, ‘She Who Wrote the World’ is a bit delayed.  I am getting my laptop back soon, which is great because the loaner I have been using has decided to become seriously glitchy!  Without giving too much away, I will tell you that in Part 16 we find out how Holly and the baby are connected.  Part 20 is the last part of this novella so the end is in sight!

In the meantime, please enjoy the first poem I ever wrote in grade 1:

Roses are red, violets are blue

Love is the best thing I can give to you

It’s not like flowers or candies

I can’t give it to you

But I show it to ones that I love and the ones that love me too

I remember this poem  well because I was so proud of it at the time I recited it to everyone…repeatedly!

It also spurred me to keep a poem book.  Unfortunately, I tapped all my creative ideas, so I elicited the help of my older brother, who wrote me such classics as:

Cheese, cheese, it’s so grand

It has string like a rubber band.

And I indeed claimed this as my own and was proud of it.

Yup, a literary genius on the rise!

Leave a Reply

