There are three rules that I know of to become a writer:

The first, is to read.  Read everything and anything as much as humanly possible.  I have always been an avid reader, preferring mystery in my youth, such as works by Agatha Christie or Dick Francis.  But I have always emotionally connected more to works of fantasy and science-fiction.  I loved English class because we got to read ‘The Giver’, ‘1984’ ‘Lord of the Rings’ and ‘Animal Farm’.  These books changed how I viewed the world and the memory of these stories still serve as my inspiration.

The second rule of writing is to write.  It doesn’t have to be beautiful, but it most definitely has to be more in depth than a Facebook post about the latest black bean cake recipe I have tried (which, by the way, was delicious!).  Herein lies the reasoning behind starting up this blog: to practice writing.  I have created websites and blogs in the past and eventually they fizzle out and I stop working on them.  Will this one be any different?  I have to believe so. I have to believe until that belief becomes a conviction that compels me forward.  I have to negate the idea that the past predicts the future because I am a creature of conscious choice and that choice enables change.

I’m not discouraged, because every wrong attempt discarded is another step forward!

– Thomas Edison

The third rule is to edit.  I hate editing.  I’m not good at it, I don’t enjoy it and I’m tired of my work by the time I’m finished writing the first draft.  This is something I will have to work on.  In the meantime, I have hired an editor and self-published author, Heather Reilly to work on my manuscript, ‘The Drawing’.   You can check out her editing and publishing services here.

 

Leave a Reply

